I had a total carb gorge fest this weekend, so now I feel like a water retaining oversized lump. Never again. Seriously, if only someone had told me to just put down the bread...
Honestly, I'm feeling a little disappointed in myself, especially since I was just starting to lose a little weight again after being pretty good last week in terms of diet. I think that I needed this because not only am I now kicking myself, but I feel like crap. Nothing like reminding me how much what I put in my mouth will affect my body/performance. Will have to suck it up at CrossFit tonight because I can pretty much guarantee after fueling my body with empty calories, the WOD is going to be brutal.
On the riding front, had a pretty decent ride on Saturday. Nothing like the previous Saturday, but I knew that was going to happen. Arwen started out super quiet, and we did a few courses like a hunter. On the last jump though (again, curses on me and my last jump-itis) I let her make the decision on a tiny bit of a long spot, and it was kind of downhill from there. She decided to tune me out, both on the approach and on the landing side. We ended on an okay note, but it was still a little bit of a downer since she started out so well. I know its me though-I really need STOP RELAXING, or at least relax but still ride her. I was trying a new bit on her that I didn't love. Let her get low (which we want, because she does need to work on the bit more) but that also meant she was able to grab on and pull down when she was trying to avoid listening to me. She doesn't do that in the controller or the gag, I think because those are both broken mouthpieces. I was using a hackabit, which had a mullen mouth. So, the next up to try is the flash with the three ring. I rode her in it yesterday, but we didn't do anything serious for me to really try out how it felt.
And on yesterday, it was totally amazeballs! I'm a little bit of a wuss to try things but last week I saw the resident 70 year old at our barn riding her horse barebake. I was like dang, if she can do it, I can do it! The juniors have actually been bugging me forever about riding her bareback (I think because I'm the youngest adult there, they kind of think of me as one of them, lol). So yesterday, I finally sucked it up and did it! I did put a pad on her because there was no way I was facing Mt Witherest in my crotch without some padding. But, I took her into the arena, walked around, did a little sitting trot and even...wait for it...cantered! I know, so silly that it seems like a big deal, but it was. When I was leasing the trail horse I was SO petrified to ride him bareback, let alone canter. I did try it once on him for like 5 steps, but that was it. Arwen has such a nice canter though, it was super easy. Seriously, I could just sit on her and canter around for days. She was such a good girl about it too. Didn't even bat an eye having mom up there with no saddle. Since I was feeling so brave after that, I took her out on the trail too. Again, she was so good!
It was interesting too to be able to feel her back muscles moving under my legs. I think I'll try and ride her bareback once a month or so, and maybe we'll work up to doing our pole work and small crossbars. This is, of course, assuming that she stays nice and calm through the winter. I'm guessing that this is something I'll pick back up come spring.
I really do love my pony. She has such a great brain. She'll spook at things occassionally, but its never bad (except in the indoor. In the winter) and she doesn't run away or do anything stupid. She's just very sensible and kind.
No comments:
Post a Comment