Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Another boring weekend recap...

I know, I know. But its hard to post everyday/everytime I ride over the weekends, doing a recap is just so much easier!

Thursday night: had a lesson with Trainer. Can't even remember what we worked on, because all I remember is the AMAZING one stride that we went through (actually now that I think really hard about it I'm pretty sure we did some singles and some bending lines). It was seriously so much fun. I know I've said before I love taking Arwen through stuff like that because she's like a spring. So much power and its so easy for her. It was probably set at like 2'6" going out, but it was an oxer with maybe 2' of spread. Trainer asked me if I wanted it lower and a vertical, but I was like "nah, its the out of a one stride. There won't be any problems". And there weren't! It was beautiful. Arwen just boinged through it, and did a huge, lovely jump out where she was actually using her back (she doesn't put much of a effort into the smaller stuff). I was grinning afterwards and my trainer was like "why don't you ride like that all the time, that was perfect distance, pace, etc etc). Yea...I feel the same way! (as does Arwen I'm sure)

Friday morning: had another lesson. Rode her in her usual bridle, which is a running gag. Lesson was great, up until the very last fence where we were taking a bending line from the one stride off a short turn (Arwen was awesome) to a single in seven strides. Single was set right next to the arena gate, so Arwen was kind of taking off. We went over that one fence a couple times, and then halted in a straight line, and called it a day. I think she is just not great in the running gag anymore. I never really loved it on her, but it offered pretty good stopping power when before I had none, lol.

Saturday morning: last lesson of the week. Rode with the 70 year old at our barn (who is truly inspiring) and a 9 year old, lol. I have no ego, especially when the 9 year old started doing more complicated fences/higher fences than me. But whatever, I digress. Rode Arwen this time in the controller noseband that trainer bought. I have been riding her in this for the past month or so maybe 3 times a week and she goes lovely in it. Slightly new course that went haybales set on an angle, rollback turn to the left to a single, around to a 4 stride on the diagonal, to a three stride set off the wall on a short, angled turn, to a bending 7, to a single, bending 7 to the one stride. Probably the most technical course we've done in a long, long time. Or ever, actually. The three stride off the wall was a super short turn. You turn off the wall and maybe have three strides before getting to the fence. Trainer put down ground lines to help us because otherwise I'm sure I would have gone too far through the corner.

But...Arwen was AMAZING. I know I've said that a lot in this post, but it was so true. I am still so happy with how she/we rode this weekend. She totally did the hay bales (I made sure to give her extra encouragement over them since it was her first time jumping them) and the first time through the rollback we did the outside turn, but then the second time, we actually did the inside turn! She wasn't charging through my hand so I was actually able to turn her. She was also awesome through the 4 stride, totally listening and put in a nice, even four steps. AWESOME to the three stride, and then again, totally listening and not rushy through that bending 7. And then of course, nailed the bending seven to the one stride again, although we did get 8 instead of 7. Trainer didn't make me do it again though, because we put in such a nice 8 and nice course overall. It was amazing, so amazing. Did I already mention how amazing it was? ;-) I wasn't fighting with her, she was listening to me, and at no real point during that course was she rushing off with me. I mean granted, I always feel like she is on the verge of being uncontrollable, but I think that is kind of what makes her fun (I know, I'm crazy). I also think that is what makes her so talented. The day that she doesn't feel like a controlled stick of dynamite on course is the day that I will start to worry!

Oh, and over all observations from this weekend:

Lateral work is definitely helping. It makes her realize she *has* to move off my leg when I ask her. Also, I feel like the better I control her feet, the better she is. She likes someone helping her out, and in the past I've definitely left too much of the decision making up to her.

And on decision making-on Friday, we started out trotting some crossrails (I try to do all the time, because I suck at trotting jumps) and Arwen started cantering probably about two trot strides out. I didn't correct her right away either and I think that bled over into the rest of the ride. She was a little rushy that day, in addition to flubbing that last fence. On Saturday when I did trot fences again I was thinking "no canter" and gave her a hard half halt before when it felt like she wanted to rush. I think it makes her go "yes ma'am!" instead of "okay, I've got to make the decision now" and like I said, she appreciates that and then starts to trust me more the rest of the ride. Because really, Saturday was just amazing (lol)

Oh, and I forgot about my Sunday hack ride! We rode out in the field to warm up (she was great, as usual) and then I set down some trot poles, and one canter pole. She actually trotted calmly and did the canter pole great. So I only made her do it twice, and then we went on a trail ride. All in all, fab weekend!

No comments:

Post a Comment