Just wanted it to be made known that we did "sprints" yesterday (I put that in quotes because its more of run as fast as I can, which is not a sprint. Its more of a slightly faster jog) and I didn't die. I actually kind of enjoyed it, in a weird, twisted this sucks kind of way.
Its funny, because 5 months ago if you told me I would have to run and actually be like "phew! Today's workout is running. Not that bad" I would have laughed. Like in your face, loud laughing. Because honestly, running is not my forte. I am not built for speed, I am built for sitting on a couch. But, after 5 months of doing CF I've actually found I can run, and it doesn't kill me. Granted, the longest distance I've had to run so far is 800m (half a mile) but its amazing to me that I can even do that, and live to tell the tale.
Yesterday was a strength day, so we started with:
5x5 deadlifts, 70% of IRM. I don't have a IRM yet, so I added 10 lbs to where I left off last time. Ended up doing 45 bar plus 50 on each side (145 total). Could have probably gone a little heavier, but will worry about that next week.
Then...
3x400 sprints
Managed to maintain a fairly even time across the board, did the first in 1:30, then no time (my stopwatch didn't start, and my coach didn't get my time either), then 1:36. But I figure that my second go ended up somewhere in the middle of that.
Like I said...I'm no runner. There were people who were blasting through this in a minute. A MINUTE, YO. To run 400m. It takes me a minute to run 200m! But...I ran the whole thing, and I'm pretty sure I ran it faster than I did last time (I think my times were in the 1:40 range). So as long as I am improving, I'm happy!
No comments:
Post a Comment