Thursday, October 13, 2011

WOD 10/12/11 and interesting barn happenings...

Okay...so I haven't ridden all week, that is why my updates have only been CrossFit related. Boring, I know. But, I have a lesson tonight with my trainer so here's hoping that Ponyface is in a good mood still!

However, doesn't mean that barn happenings don't still go on when I'm not there. I just found out one of my horsey friends is moving to my barn! I met her on COTH forums when I was looking for a new trainer almost two years ago. She rode with one of the trainers I was considering, but hadn't heard much about. So I sent her a message, and she was so super friendly and helpful, she ended up telling me to call her and we talked for probably a good hour just about trainer and horses and history. Since then we'd kept up on and off through Facebook, or visiting at each others barns, or at shows. And recently, she had wanted to come out to my barn to meet Arwen. When she did come out, my trainer was super nice and friendly (like she always is) and my friend was very impressed. That was about 2-3 months ago, I think, and since then I guess my friend was having issues with her old trainer and decided it was time to make a move.

Moving trainers is kind of like breaking up with a boyfriend. It can be easy and clean and you can part on good terms, or it can be kind of ugly and messy and you've probably burned that bridge forever. I think in the case of this particular trainer and my friend, its the latter, unfortunately. Not due to anything my friend did though, I think the attitude of this trainer will prevent them from being on super good terms ever again. But, I'm happy that she's making the move, and also happy for my trainer who will now have two new clients in the barn! (one of my friend's friends is moving from this same trainer too, lol). My friend likes to show, and wants to do bigger stuff (she's already kicking ass and taking names at 3'6" and higher) so it will definitely be a nice addition to a barn that is filled with brave juniors, but kind of weenie adults, lol!

But...onto the WOD from last night. It was short, but painful. We started out doing some skill work on snatches, which I definitely need work on, so it was good. WOD was as follows:

3 rounds:
250m row
5 thrusters (RX'd was 95, I did 75. *Maybe* could have gone heavier, but it definitely would have been tough. I did get yelled at by the coach though that I was lifting too light)
10 burpees

Goal was to get it done in sub 8, but that didn't happen. Did 8:24, which I'm still pretty happy with. I think what really slowed me down was the second set of thrusters and burpees. I dropped the weight midway through the thrusters (my center of balance was too far forward) and then burpees are just killer anyway. But like I said, still pretty happy with how I did. I was not the fastest girl, but I was also not the slowest (and I think only a very small handful of girls actually did the RX'd weight).

No comments:

Post a Comment