Well, I think this was my first challenging lesson in a couple weeks. Arwen wasn't really being "bad", she was just in a mood to go, and go fast. We saw this trend happening last year around this time too, especially in the evening lesson. Don't know if its something about getting dark early or what, but she gets frisky. Also, we started out the lesson with another horse or two in the arena, and ended with none. I think she gets upset that they get to go back to the barn and possibly get food before her!
Anyway, like I said it wasn't bad. And Arwen was actually being pretty good i.e. going to all her jumps, we were getting decent distances (just had one quasi long spot when she was blowing through my hand a little). Trainer also had us start on a bending line going the harder way. Had to do it a few times because she wasn't giving me the lead change and kind of running through the aids. Finally got it after really focusing on riding the line as three parts, and also focusing her at the first jump (because that actually made her land on the correct lead, by setting her up correctly. Imagine that). Then took her through a couple lines (both 4 strides, she was fine) then did a tight roll back to the left (again to the left, noting a trend here?). First two times through, we did the outside turn, mainly because Arwen was charging over the first fence and there was no way I was going to be able to get her through that inside turn safely. The last time through though, Trainer told me "you are GOING to do that inside turn" and I was like, "okay then". And we did it.
Again, I think another example of me just not demanding enough of her, dangit! And I should have known, because at the beginning of the lesson she was being kind of naughty with the trot jumps. I was trying to get her back, but I should have tried harder. Once she decided she could kind of ignore me, she continued to kind of ignore me.
Oh well...still learning. Have another lesson on Saturday!
No comments:
Post a Comment