Wednesday, January 18, 2012

Fitness Catch Up

Sooooo...after a gorge filled November and December where I think I went to CrossFit a total of 3-4 times, last week I managed to go twice. OWWWWWWW. The pain of getting back into the mix is definitely worse than when you first start out. Because when you first start, you're like an innocent little bird. You have no basline of where you should be (you just know you're bad at CrossFit) so you can't berate yourself for not hitting your PR's, or lifting the Rx'd weight, or remembering that feeling of needing to barf after having a large amount of running/rowing in a WOD. So coming back into it after getting over the hump on a lot of those things, but starting over a little bit backtracked from where you were, is HARD. Not just physically, but mentally. A couple of the WOD's I managed to do in December were okay, they didn't expose the weaknesses as much. But man..January so far has been kicking my ass.

Like last Saturday...we tackled the hero WOD "Angie". Angie looks simple enough on paper, but once you're 20 minutes in with the end no where in sight, you realize how much of a bitch she really is.

"Angie"

100 pull ups
100 push ups
100 sit ups
100 squats

I did all the pull ups on the green band. In hindsight, I probably should have started on the blue band but the thought of doing 100 scared me, especially since I hadn't done pull ups in about two months. But...the green band still felt slightly like a sling shot, which to me means definitely too much resistance. I did however, manage all  the push ups off my knees, and the situps and squats weren't an issue.

Monday, still sore from Saturday, we proceeded to have another killer workout. Thankfully, the gym is PACKED right now due to all the January resolution people (always happens at all, gyms, right?) so they paired us into teams. I'm not sure I would have been able to make it through otherwise!

WOD 1/16/12
1000m row (each partner did 500m, while the other held a plank)
21 dead lifts (155 was women's Rx)
21 pull ups

700 m row (each partner did 350)
15 dead lifts
15 pull ups

400m row (each partner did 200)
9 deadlifts
9 pull ups

My partner and I did 135lbs for the deadlifts. Those MF'ers were heavy. I can tell I haven't done many DL's lately. Did all the pull ups on the blue band, and they felt great. I think another week of blue band (or at least practice) and then I'll move to the red band, and then hopefully unassisted. Unassisted is really the goal, but I just need to do them more consistently to get there.

I think our overall time was around 20 minutes. Working with a partner really makes you feel much more accountable. I know I worked faster because I didn't want my partner to have to hold the plank for too long. Still feeling sore, and my lower back is definitely tight, but hoping that riding tonight and then CF again tomorrow helps loosen things up a bit. That and I gotta get my stretch on!

No comments:

Post a Comment