No idea what happened. Went out last night for a lesson with my trainer and as soon as we started trotting, I could tell something was off. There was a definite bobble and initially, I felt like it was something coming from her hind but my trainer pointed out that it seemed to be in her front right. I hopped off and we proceeded to feel her hooves and legs, which felt great. There was a little heat in her front hooves, but not any more than normal. Rest of her legs felt cool and tight.
This mare has been so sturdy so far (knocks on wood). The only other time she came out odd was when she needed her coffins done, but that was a different feeling. Her trot was stabby and rough, and this time it still felt like her normal trot, but she was definitely favoring something. Makes me think that she might have done something to her shoulder?
She was ridden earlier in the day by assistant S, who would be able to tell if something was off at that point, and if it was, my trainer would have gotten a call. She was also fine on Sunday, then proceeded to have two days off to be a lazy butt. So as you can imagine, I didn't ride her last night. Just untacked, put her away, and gave her a couple grams of bute with her supplement/fish oil mixture.
So I just don't know. The plan is that she'll be put on the walker today to get her to walk just a little, and then turnout. Buted again. Tomorrow I can ride her around, at a walk to see how she feels. Last day of bute. Saturday she gets another spin on the walker and turnout. Sunday (if I'm here, Esty and I may be going to Pismo but those plans are now up in the air due to his work) I'll go out and see how she's feeling.
If things are still crappy, we have our celebrity vet (he really is a celebrity vet, has worked with Oprah's animals and the US Olympic team) coming out next week to check on some other horses, so he could check her then too.
Its incredibly ironic that this is happening now when I just had a conversation with Esty about maintaing Arwen's mortality/major med insurance. I had been debating with myself whether I should because she had held up with no issues (other than expected maintenance) over the past year. I had decided that I was probably going to maintain it, as long as I was able to ride her as planned. But hadn't actually sent in the premium check yet...so I'm sure you can guess what I am doing first thing today!
Anyway, just wanted to send this out there in hopes that nothing is seriously wrong with her. Maybe I'm overracting but its scary when they can't talk to us, and they are pretty good at hiding stuff. When they come up lame, it means that something is definitely wrong.
No comments:
Post a Comment