Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Thankgiving Binge Payback. WOD 11/28/11

Headed to CF last night for the first time in a week, and also the first time since gorging myself over the holiday. There was one day in there where I literally ate nothing but pie...so to say that my waist had expanded a little over the 4 day holiday is an understatement.

So, I knew this one was going to suck.

WOD as follows:

100 m sprint (more like "fast run" for me-these legs don't sprint)

24 burpees
24 swings (women RX'd was 35 lbs, which I would normally do if I wasn't feeling like an out of shape glutton due to being a slacker for the past MONTH. Did 25lbs)
24 lunges, total w/KB used for swings

400m run

16 burpees
16 swings
16 lunges

400m run

8 burpees
8 swings
8 lunges

100m sprint.

Goal was sub 20. Did it in 15:50 and felt like I was going to die. What made it worse was I was pretty much done after the warm up, lol. The coach has us do 5 minutes of double under practice in prep for next weeks skill testing (UGH...whole 'nother entry will be needed for that, I'm sure). A win for me though was I could do 2 whole double unders in a row! IN A ROW. More if I was doing double under, then single, then double under. Managed to do about 5 double unders doing it that way. So, pretty proud of myself for doing that. Other than that though, nothing much to be proud of. Have been away from the box far too much this month and I can tell in both my endurance and the way my clothes are fitting. I blame it on winter and the urge to hibernate. Gotta suck it up though, because swim suit season is not that far away, and I want to look good in one since I hit the big 3-0 this summer. Eep!

Monday, November 28, 2011

Pony is Back.

Did another lesson with Arwen on Saturday and she is definitely back to her old tricks, otherwise known as "Tune Katie Out". Had some interesting jumping, where god d****t horse, I just want you to go at the pace I'm dictating! Of course, Ponyface had other ideas. I think she felt the pace I was asking her to go was just too damn slow, even though we were only jumping a crossrail and a small vertical. Either way, she felt great. Definitely a little stiffer to the left like she was before, but I think thats due to being out of work for almost a month. Will definitely keep working on lateral/bending stuff like before, but I also really REALLY want to get a chiro out to do some adjustments on here. Just got to come up with the moola, and with some other stuff going on, its going to be a few months before that can happen.

So, just completely thankful she appears to be sound right now. But, also disappointed that we took a backwards step in the progress department. She didn't appear to have lost too much conditioning, but you can tell that she is a little bit out of shape at this point. Just small things like the bending, and then also she is tending to lean on my hands a lot towards the end of the ride when she's tired. I think this also translates into ignoring me and my leg, when she just doesn't want to get that rear end under her. Because the last real jumping lesson we had, she was on a slower pace, but with a lot of impulsion and was taking larger jumps than we were doing on Saturday. We'll see...I just want her to stay sound at this point.

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Better?

I rode Arwen last night and I'm cautiously optimistic that she is better. She had been off bute since Saturday night (so three days without) and came out feeling really, really good. I only felt one little bobble, and it was in an area where the arena footing is kind of deep so I'm guessing it was more of a little stumble than a lameness bobble. We did a nice, long walking warm up to get her loose, and then progressed to some trotting on a relatively loose rein. She felt back to normal from the get go. She definitely didn't want to work though. I think ponyface really enjoyed her mini vacation!

After spending about 20 minutes warming up (I didn't want to trot her too much, just in case there was something that trainer could still see) and after getting the all clear from trainer we took her over a few little jumps (cross rails and maybe an 18 inch vertical). She was awesome. Didn't run away, or make a dash for the fence. And its just so nice to be riding a horse with a big stride that is adjustable (when she's listening). Jumping is seriously nothing for her, barely any effort over these little fences whatsoever. Unlike Ready who I feel like is putting in a lot of effort even over the small stuff (although he really isn't, but it just feels that way).

Anyway...here's hoping that last night wasn't a fluke. I'm hacking her tonight and all my fingers and toes are crossed that she still comes out feeling good.

Tuesday, November 22, 2011

WOD 11/21/11

Finally dragged my ass back into the box for a workout. Felt like I was going to puke, which is a sure sign that I haven't been working out enough, and fueling my body with crap. So...planning to get back with the program after this week. Trying to work out around the holidays and riding time is a little difficult.

WOD was:

5 rounds
5 thrusters (women RX'd was 95 lbs, I did 65 lbs)
10 burpeess

I thought this one sounded familiar, and sure enough when I looked back on here we had done one kind of similar (it involved heavy thrusters), but only 3 rounds instead of 5, and rowing for 250m at the beginning. In that WOD, I did my thrusters at 75lbs which makes me kind of feel like a cop out for only doing 65lbs last night. Oops. I have definitely been slacking and I'm not sure if I could have handled the 75 lbs last night. The 65lbs felt maybe a little light (I was able to do the 5 unbroken and felt pretty good) but I think the 75lbs would have been too much. Oh well. Next time, for sure will force myself to do the 75lbs. I can tell though from my little two week break and sporadic attendance my results are suffering a bit.

Monday, November 21, 2011

Fitness FAIL

So I've been totally neglecting CrossFit lately. I had two weeks of not going at all (dealing with the horse and other stuff) and then only made it out there twice last week. Looking like I'm only going to get out there twice this week again.

UGH. I hate not going because I feel like crap, but the more you don't go, the easier it gets not to go. And then the more I don't go, the easier it gets to eat the wrong foods. Its a horrible downward spiral that basically equates to I need to get my butt back into the swing of things and stop with the excuses.

On the pony front, she seems to be improving. We buted her for a few days to see if that would help with the bobbles and for the first couple days something was definitely still there, but then on Saturday she felt great. So Saturday was the last day she got bute, I did a super light walk/trail ride/turnout with her yesterday, and I have a lesson on Tuesday where we will see how she feels. Its all just very very odd, but hopefully it really was just a strained muscle or something. Oh, and she did get a shot of Pentosan on Friday, which she has been off of for a couple months (did get a shot of Adequan in the past couple months). Maybe that could really have been making a difference?

Anyway...nothing too interesting happening because I haven't been doing anything with her. She is furry as all get out, you can press your hand into her side and leave a compressed furry handprint. I haven't been blanketing her in an effort to get her to lose some weight and haven't wanted to body clip her since she hasn't been in work. But, if she is sound this week I'll definitely need to get her clipped. Otherwise she becomes this yak like sweaty mess which is no fun to wait around for it to dry, especially when its freezing and dark out. But knock on wood, cross fingers, say a voodoo spell, WHATEVER it takes, that she comes out sound on Tuesday. Pleasepleasepleaseplase!

Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Ponyface's Lameness Continues to Puzzle...

Two weeks in and Arwen is still not 100%. Last week we had Celebrity Vet out (I call him that because he has worked with the US Olympic team and spends most of his time flying around the world checking people's horses) and he diagnosed her problem as her coffins again. When we lunged her on hard ground, she was definitely off-doing a little bit of a head bob, and shorter stride going both directions. He blocked one of her front feet, and there was some improvement which is what caused him to come to that conclusion. Last time I had her coffins done, it was a pretty dramatic improvement, so I went ahead and did them. She definitely had inflammation in that area (before he puts the steroids in, he'll stick the needle in and then press on the area and a bunch of bloody liquid comes squirting out-not normal) so it was definitely getting close to the time to get them done (last time done was about 7 months ago)

However...I think I said before her "offness" felt a lot different from the last time she needed her coffins done. It felt higher up, like her shoulder area or something. But since she was relatively new to me at this time last year, it is possible that before she was *really* sore from the inflammation, she had felt like this as well and it just got progressively worse. Because last time, by the time we did her coffins she was head bobbing lame on hard ground. This time it was very, very mild but clear to both the vet and my eye that she was sore.

So after getting two days of just turnout from the injections, I took her for a very light hack on Sunday expecting everything to feel right as rain. At the walk, everything was fine. As soon as we picked up the trot though, I could feel that little bit of a lurch in her shoulder again. I kept her going though, and after about half a lap, she had worked out of it. We did a little bit of canter too, and then went back to the trot and she felt great. I chalked it up to maybe she was expecting some pain and bracing for it, then realized it was gone and relaxed.

However...trainer hacked her today and said she felt it too. Again, worked out of it. But, when she went to put her in the crossties she pushed on her chest to get her to back up (Arwen refuses to turn around, so we just back her into them) and apparently flew backwards. Trainer started feeling around on her chest area, and felt a definite swelling on her left side. Now this could be a number of things, some not so bad, some pretty serious. I hadn't noticed this swelling at all over the past week, and trainer asked me if she was particularly bad when I groomed her chest, but I was like well, she's always kind of annoyed when I groom her. Didn't notice any reactions out of the ordinary. She also hasn't been off her feed or acting lethargic. Has pretty much been her normal, bright eyed self. Also, she doesn't go crazy in turnout so I'm doubting that she pulled something out there.

Basically, I'm kind of at a loss. At least we have ruled out coffins so I know she's not in pain in that area. Now, we just are going to wait and see if this chest thing gets better on its own, or worsens. I'm going to ride her lightly this week to keep her moving, and trainer gave her some anti inflammatory stuff to see if that helps. We're hoping maybe its a bite, or she ran into something. But I'm thinking its probably something a little more serious if its been affecting her for a little while now. If nothing improves, will definitely be having the vet out again. Sigh. I sure do wish she could talk to me sometimes...

Monday, November 7, 2011

RIP Hickstead

Sad, sad day in the horseworld yesterday. Eric Lamaze's great stallion Hickstead passed away after completing his first go in the Verona Grand Prix. I have always admired this horse and rider team, mainly because Hickstead looked like a beast to ride, and Eric always handled him with such a light touch. And that horse-man, he jumped his heart out for Eric. There was a video a few months ago of another grand prix where Lamaze took a super direct bending line, that put him pretty much right in front of the right side jump standard. A normal horse would have probably refused it. But Hickstead, so trusting of his rider, jumped over the top of the standard on a grand prix fence. That is insane, but speaks TONS to the partnership him and Eric had together. That is something I can only dream of having with my horse. It does not happen everyday, nor to everyone, where horse and rider seem so perfectly suited for one another. I think in the case of Lamaze and Hickstead, the proof was in the pudding, the pudding being the millions of dollars they won together and the other various successes they had (including being ranked number one in the world by Rolex for three years). I'm not sure we'll ever see another horse like him, or at least not anytime soon.

The passing of any animal is sad, but one as great at this being taken away so quickly is especially heartbreaking. I went out to the barn after I heard the news, and just buried my face in Arwen's super fluffy neck and hugged her until she started backing away like "WTF is going on?" LOL.

Definitely serves as a reminder to appreciate your animals (or anyone in your life for that matter) everyday. RIP Hickstead.

Friday, November 4, 2011

Ready!

So since Arwen is still on her mini vacation to hopefully self recover from whatever is ailing her, Trainer let me ride a different horse in my lesson last night. Not just any horse, but the horse that basically taught me to jump and gain enough confidence that I was ready (at least mentally, lol) for a horse like Arwen. Ready (thats his name) is just so sweet and simple and fun. I leased him for about 8 months prior to buying Arwen, and did my first ever (and only, so far) show on him last September. 

Let me start out by saying-complete opposite ride to Arwen. Ready like an extremely light contact, and a lot of leg. I was basically completely staying out of his face on the flat and over fences. It was weird to have him just maintain a pretty easy rhythm without a lot of input from me, or having to take a feel before the fence. And then after the fence, no taking off! Again, SO. WEIRD. He's also very straightforward and honest-point him at a jump, he goes to it. I think in my entire time riding him (and watching other people) he refused on me only once when he didn't know where he was going. Arwen, on the other hand, is a much more precise ride. As I've written about before, she has refused. A lot.

Not only does he like a different feel from the rider, OMG is he uncomfortable. Has a much shorter, bouncier stride at the trot, same with the canter. I think if I were to ride him more I would definitely get used to it again but man...Arwen has spoiled me. She is just so smooth and easy when she moves. That is for sure one of the things I really, really love about her.

Also, Arwen is naturally so uphill and balanced, transitions, lead changes, etc are generally fine. Totally different on Ready. He's a little more downhill, and I didn't have the best pad on him so my saddle was tilting down a little which didn't help. So I felt like I was getting thrown forward, even though I probably wasn't. Funny how just a little tiny change in balance point can really throw you for a loop (or at least this unexperienced ammy, lol)

I swear I looked like a dead fish up there on him at the beginning, I know I felt like I was being bounced all over, couldn't stay down in my heel, and my canter transitions were horrible! Plus, he doesn't take up as much of my leg as Arwen does, so I felt like it was swinging like a pendulum. I think Arwen has definitely covered a lot of my flaws/weaknesses but made me stronger in other areas.

But jumping...jumping was so fun on him. When I rode him before I was definitely kicking him all the way to the fence but this time, since I KNOW what a quality canter is supposed to feel like now I wasn't taking any crap. I had a crop and I USED it. So by the time we got to jumping, he was listening well. We did get some half strides in because I was using too much hand, but when I finally softened and just kept my leg on, we nailed our distances each time. It was really nice!

Tonight I'll just be riding Arwen around at a walk. Maybe a couple steps of trot in the arena to see how she feels, but thats it.

Thursday, November 3, 2011

Arwen is Lame

No idea what happened. Went out last night for a lesson with my trainer and as soon as we started trotting,  I could tell something was off. There was a definite bobble and initially, I felt like it was something coming from her hind but my trainer pointed out that it seemed to be in her front right. I hopped off and we proceeded to feel her hooves and legs, which felt great. There was a little heat in her front hooves, but not any more than normal. Rest of her legs felt cool and tight. 

This mare has been so sturdy so far (knocks on wood). The only other time she came out odd was when she needed her coffins done, but that was a different feeling. Her trot was stabby and rough, and this time it still felt like her normal trot, but she was definitely favoring something. Makes me think that she might have done something to her shoulder?

She was ridden earlier in the day by assistant S, who would be able to tell if something was off at that point, and if it was, my trainer would have gotten a call. She was also fine on Sunday, then proceeded to have two days off to be a lazy butt. So as you can imagine, I didn't ride her last night. Just untacked, put her away, and gave her a couple grams of bute with her supplement/fish oil mixture.

So I just don't know. The plan is that she'll be put on the walker today to get her to walk just a little, and then turnout. Buted again. Tomorrow I can ride her around, at a walk to see how she feels. Last day of bute. Saturday she gets another spin on the walker and turnout. Sunday (if I'm here, Esty and I may be going to Pismo but those plans are now up in the air due to his work) I'll go out and see how she's feeling.

If things are still crappy, we have our celebrity vet (he really is a celebrity vet, has worked with Oprah's animals and the US Olympic team) coming out next week to check on some other horses, so he could check her then too.

Its incredibly ironic that this is happening now when I just had a conversation with Esty about maintaing Arwen's mortality/major med insurance. I had been debating with myself whether I should because she had held up with no issues (other than expected maintenance) over the past year. I had decided that I was probably going to maintain it, as long as I was able to ride her as planned. But hadn't actually sent in the premium check yet...so I'm sure you can guess what I am doing first thing today!

Anyway, just wanted to send this out there in hopes that nothing is seriously wrong with her. Maybe I'm overracting but its scary when they can't talk to us, and they are pretty good at hiding stuff. When they come up lame, it means that something is definitely wrong.