Monday, September 19, 2011

Weekend Recap

First on the fitness front. Got to do "Dumb Fran" for the second time since I started CrossFit. "Dumb Fran" is the dumbell version of "Fran", one of the benchmark WOD's that you do probably every few months in order to help gauge your progress. It goes:

21-15-9
DB Thrusters
Pull ups


The WOD is meant to be done quickly. Women use 25 lb dumbells for the RX'd weight. Last time I attempted "Dumb Fran" in July, I mistakenly thought that the 25 lbs DB's would be fine. HAH. It was death. Back in July, I came in at 9 minutes, 30 seconds using the 25 lb-ers, plus the green band for the pulls ups (its the second easiest band, has lots of resistance). So, I was a little nervous going into the WOD because OMG, what if I haven't improved? What if I still can't do the 25's? I knew that I had gotten stronger since July but still...WHAT IF I SUCK??? Its funny to have these thoughts running through your mind about a workout, right? But really, CrossFit is a competitive environment, even though that isn't the focus. I knew that people would still encourage me if I hadn't improved, but it might also mean that I would need to seriously rethink how CrossFit as a program was working for me. Really, the only person I would be letting down would be myself, and I hate that feeling.

But, ladies and gents, I managed to drop 2 minutes and 30 seconds off my original "Dumb Fran" time, and that was with using the next step down in bands! Came in at 7 minutes. I think I could have even gone faster, except my forearms were cramping up and it made it really difficult to grip the bar. But, I'm still happy. I got through the thrusters with the 25 lb DBs and didn't die. Hopefully next time we hit this WOD, I'll be able to do the whole thing as RX'd. That would be pretty damn sweet, even if it means that my time is slower. Its pretty amazing to me though, this is the first benchmark WOD I've done twice and the amount of improvement kind of blows my mind. I was *hoping* to drop a minute. But clearly my body is adapting in a good way,  its been within a relatively short period of time (come October, I'll have been at CrossFit for 5 months), and with working out only three times a week. Even though I haven't seen my weight decrease like I would like to see (partially my fault, I am still not totally dialed in on my diet) from my results and riding I know that it is making a difference. I love it.

On the horse front, I had another lovely round of lessons this week/weekend. Arwen was fan-freaking-tastic. We had one little minor spook at a jump with panels (its her favorite jump to spook at, coming off my least favorite corner, for some reason) and I don't even really count it as a refusal.  We just circled, and then she popped right over it. We also had some great bending lines, still a little rushy, but rideable. Overall she was just super quiet and responsive, and FUN this weekend. We even had a first-when we were warming up over a trot jump, she didn't even canter away. She trotted over the damn thing, and landed trotting. This has NEVER. HAPPENED. people! Sometimes its even been a struggle to get her to trot quietly over a pole on the ground so for her to trot over a crossrail is pretty impressive (its the small things, right?). I did have her hocks injected a couple weeks ago, so I think she's just feeling loose and pain free. Doesn't feel like she has to scoot off, and also, I think she's just finally relaxing a bit with me, and vice versa.

Upon pondering further, I think both of our more relaxed attitudes have been reflecting in our rides for the past couple of months. I also think Arwen appreciates me not flying off her back via unplanned dismounts, which does make her nervous. Its pretty cool though, because my one year anniversary with Arwen is coming up in a couple weeks. I wasn't anticipating "clicking" with her to take this long (and I mean riding wise, since I knew she was "it" the second I sat on her) but people do say it takes at least a year to really get to know a horse.  I really am hoping this progress continues, so I can finally effing show with her next spring! There is still a couple more shows this fall before the season ends for a couple months but I a) don't have the cash and b) don't want to go to one show, then have a big break. I feel like it makes more sense to be able to do three in a row (or however many).

Oh, and I finally got her papers! I officially know her breeding and history. Its pretty cool, actually. I had found online what I thought was her lineage, but I think some of it was incorrect. She has a lot of Westfalian blood in her, some Hano, some BWP and a little bit of Selle Francais thrown in there. You can definitely tell the Westfalian (personality) and Hano (big ole jughead, but still pretty). I also now have the name and address of her breeder, so if I ever happen to be down in Monterrey, Mexico I will have to pay him a call. Because I would LOVE to see if they have any baby pictures of her. I may even write a letter, but I would have to have my hubs translate!

So, that was pretty much my weekend in a nutshell. Good, but mellow. Just the way I like 'em.

No comments:

Post a Comment