Thursday, September 29, 2011

Lesson 9/28/11

I know, not very creative with the title. Thats because nothing super eventful happened last night, which is a-okay by me.

Got there pretty early, so I got in a decent amount of flatwork. Lots of trotting circles again, figure eights, some leg yielding with some pretty decent forward/sideways movement. At least now I can really "feel" it when she's crossing those legs, as opposed to just tilting the body sideways and walking forward. And she *knows* how to do it perfectly fine. Its just a matter of me asking in the correct place, and being able to feel/correct her through the movement. That is what I really want to drill down, and then be able to leg yield correctly across the diagonal. Baby steps though!

I got kind of mishmashed in with the 4:30 group lesson that does the bigger fences (like 3'6", no way in hell was I going over those!) so we just stood around and watched them jump. I always think its a good thing to watch people more advanced than you jump, especially in a lesson. I was able to see what kinds of mistakes they were making, how they were correcting it, and how much better it made the horses go, and think about how it translates into my riding. Also, it was nice to see that even these much more advanced students make the same mistakes as me. Like one of the juniors was having trouble seeing a distance, mainly because she didn't have the correct canter pace. Trainer told her to just let go, canter and she would get there. And when she did finally just let the horse take her there on a good canter, sure enough, the distance and fence were beautiful. I tend to pickpickpick to a fence too, especially on a long approach. I think I've gotten better about it in the past couple months, but I could definitely empathize with what the rider was going through.

When they finished up, I did a couple of trot fences (which are now great, but I still force myself to practice them) and then a couple of warm up canter fences. Oh, and we did do a repeat of the rollback turn I was having issues with last Wednesday, and it was fine this time around. I just really tried to remember to sit up and down, instead of hunching forward and pulling. Definitely helped get her around that turn. Trainer then had me do a little course of some diagonal lines, roll backs and a one stride. Had to do the one stride to the diagonal line a couple times because Arwen was rushing a bit through the line (per usual). The last time through, I really tried to sit up, and she bulged a little to the right, but we made it through pretty nicely despite it being slightly bent to fit in all the strides. Eh...gotta pick my battles with that horse. She was pretty good overall so we decided to end on a positive note.

So like I said, not super exciting. But nothing dramatic or horrible happened either, so I'm happy!

Wednesday, September 28, 2011

Back from my break!

Went out to the barn last night to do a little hack after having my five days off. My goal was to just do lots of trot work, and really try and get Arwen to reach under herself and use that bum! 

Surprisingly, I didn't feel horrible after being out of the saddle for almost a week. It used to do a number on me when I would take that much time off, but since starting to increase my fitness and riding more, it definitely phases me a lot less.

I did grab a dressage whip, just for kicks to see if it would help her engage a little more. She normally starts out a little distracted and pokey, and what do you know, holding that dressage whip made her start out at a nice brisk walk. Horses are so funny sometimes. I haven't had to use any kind of crop/whip with her since she is naturally so forward, so holding it plus the reins felt really, really weird (last horse I used one on was my lease, which was almost a year ago!).

Started out with just that nice, brisk walk a few times around the arena in both directions on a loose rein. Then picked up a trot going left (still on a loose rein), asking her to go nice and forward, but not rushy. This is where I felt holding that whip made the biggest difference. She was immediately off my leg, and doing a nice, sproingy trot that was forward, but not all quick and rushy like she can sometimes do when I ask her to go forward. Did this a couple times around going both directions, with a few large circles to get her to soften and bend in both directions. I also wanted her to start reaching for the bit (which she would do), but I think my timing is still off or my contact is changing because for the life of me, I just can't get her to hold it.  After the trotting we went back down to a brisk walk and did some lateral stuff, mostly mini shoulder ins, some leg yielding, and turn on the haunches and forehand. We ended on a couple laps of canter, with flying lead changes both directions, and then trotted over one of the little crossrails set up both directions.

Couple thoughts on the lead changes and the crossrails. After doing all the lateral stuff, and making sure she was listening to my leg, those lead changes were great. No falling in against my inside leg, and she got them right away. Funny how that works, right? Same with the trotting crossrails. Super straight to the jump, and super straight afterwards (which is something we were struggling with last lesson, where she wanted to dive into the turn and I was struggling to keep her off my inside leg). She also cantered away really quietly, and I focused on my upper body and seat telling her to whoa/slow as opposed to being all hunched forward over my hands and pulling (conflicting message, right? Makes her pissed)

So, definitely going to keep working on lateral stuff every warmup. And I decided that right now, I'm just really going to focus on perfecting that leg yield, and getting it done correctly. But overall, it was a really nice ride, even if it was kinda short. Sucks that its getting dark so much earlier now too! Pretty soon I'm going to have to move into the indoor in the evenings and I'm not looking forward to that. Lesson tonight though, will post about it later!

Monday, September 26, 2011

Camping!

So DH and I just got back from a five day camping trip up in the high Sierras near Mammoth Lake. Fun, but pretty exhausting and I now feel like I need an extra two days off from my five days off. I think this was the most active camping trip we've ever done. We did one really long hike, then two shorter ones, plus some driving around and exploring the area a bit. Now, camping is not really *my* thing. Its DH's hobby, especially with off roading mixed in. It has gotten a lot more enjoyable though, since he bought a little teardrop trailer that helps keep us protected from the elements and has a kitchen in the back. Now if only Teardrop could figure out a way to cram a bathroom and shower in there...

On the hikes, I have to say I was very impressed with my stamina and ability to actually hike at 11,000 feet and not die. Last time we tried hiking at altitude (probably around 8,000 feet) I had to stop every ten feet to catch my breath. This time though, I trucked up those switchbacks like a boss. Actual altitude gain was probably around 800 ft, topping out at 11,000. So, thank you CrossFit! Functional fitness at its best, and that is with only working out three times a week for short periods of time. I feel like I am walking proof that high intensity interval training (which is essentially what most of our workouts are) really does work.

As for the rest of the trip, we saw a really cool national monument called Devil's Postpile and then visited a well known ghost town called Bodie. I think the high Sierra's are growing on me a bit as I did used to not love the whole high desert scene. As a kid I spent most of my time amongst towering pines and granite, not scrub brush. But there is definitely a different kind of beauty to the area, and I am coming to appreciate it more. Although the appreciation ends at the random thunderstorms that happen up there in the summer. We got caught in one on the way back from one of our hikes and we were drenched in a matter of minutes. We had to run back to camp, and shove everything under our trailer, all while getting rained/hailed on. All in all though, it was fun and I managed to take a lot of nice pictures. Some didn't turn out as well as they could have because I forgot to switch the ISO setting on my camera to "auto" (whoops) but thats okay. I'm still trying to get the hang of the whole manual setting dealio.

I haven't seen Arwen in 5 days but I'm going to go out there tomorrow and hack her. We'll see how she behaves!

Monday, September 19, 2011

Weekend Recap

First on the fitness front. Got to do "Dumb Fran" for the second time since I started CrossFit. "Dumb Fran" is the dumbell version of "Fran", one of the benchmark WOD's that you do probably every few months in order to help gauge your progress. It goes:

21-15-9
DB Thrusters
Pull ups


The WOD is meant to be done quickly. Women use 25 lb dumbells for the RX'd weight. Last time I attempted "Dumb Fran" in July, I mistakenly thought that the 25 lbs DB's would be fine. HAH. It was death. Back in July, I came in at 9 minutes, 30 seconds using the 25 lb-ers, plus the green band for the pulls ups (its the second easiest band, has lots of resistance). So, I was a little nervous going into the WOD because OMG, what if I haven't improved? What if I still can't do the 25's? I knew that I had gotten stronger since July but still...WHAT IF I SUCK??? Its funny to have these thoughts running through your mind about a workout, right? But really, CrossFit is a competitive environment, even though that isn't the focus. I knew that people would still encourage me if I hadn't improved, but it might also mean that I would need to seriously rethink how CrossFit as a program was working for me. Really, the only person I would be letting down would be myself, and I hate that feeling.

But, ladies and gents, I managed to drop 2 minutes and 30 seconds off my original "Dumb Fran" time, and that was with using the next step down in bands! Came in at 7 minutes. I think I could have even gone faster, except my forearms were cramping up and it made it really difficult to grip the bar. But, I'm still happy. I got through the thrusters with the 25 lb DBs and didn't die. Hopefully next time we hit this WOD, I'll be able to do the whole thing as RX'd. That would be pretty damn sweet, even if it means that my time is slower. Its pretty amazing to me though, this is the first benchmark WOD I've done twice and the amount of improvement kind of blows my mind. I was *hoping* to drop a minute. But clearly my body is adapting in a good way,  its been within a relatively short period of time (come October, I'll have been at CrossFit for 5 months), and with working out only three times a week. Even though I haven't seen my weight decrease like I would like to see (partially my fault, I am still not totally dialed in on my diet) from my results and riding I know that it is making a difference. I love it.

On the horse front, I had another lovely round of lessons this week/weekend. Arwen was fan-freaking-tastic. We had one little minor spook at a jump with panels (its her favorite jump to spook at, coming off my least favorite corner, for some reason) and I don't even really count it as a refusal.  We just circled, and then she popped right over it. We also had some great bending lines, still a little rushy, but rideable. Overall she was just super quiet and responsive, and FUN this weekend. We even had a first-when we were warming up over a trot jump, she didn't even canter away. She trotted over the damn thing, and landed trotting. This has NEVER. HAPPENED. people! Sometimes its even been a struggle to get her to trot quietly over a pole on the ground so for her to trot over a crossrail is pretty impressive (its the small things, right?). I did have her hocks injected a couple weeks ago, so I think she's just feeling loose and pain free. Doesn't feel like she has to scoot off, and also, I think she's just finally relaxing a bit with me, and vice versa.

Upon pondering further, I think both of our more relaxed attitudes have been reflecting in our rides for the past couple of months. I also think Arwen appreciates me not flying off her back via unplanned dismounts, which does make her nervous. Its pretty cool though, because my one year anniversary with Arwen is coming up in a couple weeks. I wasn't anticipating "clicking" with her to take this long (and I mean riding wise, since I knew she was "it" the second I sat on her) but people do say it takes at least a year to really get to know a horse.  I really am hoping this progress continues, so I can finally effing show with her next spring! There is still a couple more shows this fall before the season ends for a couple months but I a) don't have the cash and b) don't want to go to one show, then have a big break. I feel like it makes more sense to be able to do three in a row (or however many).

Oh, and I finally got her papers! I officially know her breeding and history. Its pretty cool, actually. I had found online what I thought was her lineage, but I think some of it was incorrect. She has a lot of Westfalian blood in her, some Hano, some BWP and a little bit of Selle Francais thrown in there. You can definitely tell the Westfalian (personality) and Hano (big ole jughead, but still pretty). I also now have the name and address of her breeder, so if I ever happen to be down in Monterrey, Mexico I will have to pay him a call. Because I would LOVE to see if they have any baby pictures of her. I may even write a letter, but I would have to have my hubs translate!

So, that was pretty much my weekend in a nutshell. Good, but mellow. Just the way I like 'em.

Friday, September 9, 2011

Reason #145696 to exercise

I've been dealing with a mild, but constant headache since Tuesday. No idea what from, wasn't super painful, just more annoying.

Finally caved and took one Excedrin last night before heading out to CrossFit.

And what do you know...got back, headache was gone. Attributed it to the Excedrin. But, woke up this morning feeling completely refreshed, sans headache.

Funny how that works, eh? Note to self: do not go over a week without hitting up the gym because apparently it pisses my body off, and also makes those burpees hurt that much more.

Last nights WOD for time:

500m row

5 rounds
7 DL (supposed to be 70% of 1 RM, but I just couldn't do it due to feeling kind of shitty from the headache, so I managed 115 when my 70% is probably more like 135-145)
9 burpees
11 KTE

400m run

Did it in 18:23. Not mind blowing super athlete time, but my goal was to be sub 20 minutes which I did. And didn't die.

Oh, and on a side note the NB Minimus Trails I bought less than two months ago have already given up. The Vibram tread on the bottom of one of them is peeling off. You can bet those are going back to the store this weekend where they had better give me a new pair. Those shoes have had it EASY the past fews weeks. They have no excuse.

Thursday, September 8, 2011

As follow up to my last post...

I thought I should also post some of my goals for the next year with my pony, since I'm trying to stay in this positive mindset!

1) get back to jumping solid 3' courses. Was doing this pretty succesfully, but we backed down due to the refusing issues.

2) get to three shows. I am DYING to show but due to money issues, haven't been able to get my *ish* together. Those money issues being buying my um...Antares saddle. That was basically where all my showing money went this year. Oh well...Ponyface needed it, I swear!

3) really drill down my flatwork, maybe even take a couple dressage lessons. Last night we did a ton a flatwork and Arwen was GREAT when we started jumping, even though she generally depises flatwork. What I want to be able to successfully AND correctly: haunches in, shoulder in, leg yield down center line, and really work her consistently in a nice, round and engaged frame. When my trainer gets on and shows me what she can REALLY do (because all the buttons are installed, I just have to learn how to push them correctly) it is beautiful and impressive.

4) try and get through the next two months with no refusals. I know that this will also link back/improve if I get more serious about demanding more from her on the flat.

5) keep working on my equitation. I know, this is very general but its always a work in progress so I gotta throw it in there.

Thats it for now. I'm sure these will change/evolve as time goes on, but these are the immediate things I would like to improve. For most of these (except the showing, since the season doesn't really ramp up until March) I would like to get them accomplished by January. That gives me a good 4 months, which doesn't seem like much but I think if I really buckle down and get a little more serious about this, they can be done. Because really, the things I want to improve are about ME, not the horse. She doesn't need any additional training, she is almost too smart and too well trained. I, on the other hand, still sometimes feel like a bumbling fool up there and I think that is why we run into issues. So I want to work really, really hard on this stuff going into the winter time, because I think it will also help make her a much more rideable horse when the cold really sets in (she was a bit of a fire breathing dragon last winter). Wish us (okay, just me) luck!

Tuesday, September 6, 2011

Getting some perspective

After a month or so of really, really great rides on Arwen, I had a pretty shitty lesson on Saturday. She wasn't really being bad per se, but she did refuse on me three times all at the same line. I was getting frustrated, and I think my trainer was too (because really, how many times can she yell at me about the same problem before it finally sinks into my brain?) so I left the lesson feeling pretty discouraged and upset (commence pity part in 3...2...1... I'm ruining my horse! I'm never going to learn to ride! I SUCK!!!!!)

But after discussing with a friend, I realized instead of dwelling on the negative, I really should look at how much I HAVE accomplished (because it has been pretty good, overall). Lets list it, shall we?

1) a year ago (because I've almost owned Arwen for a year-eek!) I wouldn't have had the confidence to even sit on a horse like Arwen. She was hot, bolty and spooky at times. Now, I can ride her around on a loose rein most day and her bolts/spooks are few and far between. She's still my little hot tamale when we're jumping, but on the flat you can practically hear her yawn.

2) I've gone from crossrails to 2'9-2'11" in less than two years. Before getting with my current trainer I was barely even stringing together a course of 8 crossrails. Didn't know anything about distances (although people told me I had a natural eye, I just nodded like I knew what they were talking about) or strides or anything really jumping related for that matter.

3)And in relation to above, I have only been riding for 5 years! And that is five years, PERIOD. Three of those were spent riding just once a week for fun. Also, not a rerider here, who rode as a teen, left and came back with muscle memory still intact. I essentially had NOTHING to go on, and to anyone who has picked up anything really as an adult, should understand how difficult this is. Our brains just don't make the connections quickly like they did when we were kids and were still developing, as opposed to losing what we have!

4) See number 1). I didn't choose the easiest horse in the world, to put it mildly. But, in that time I have learned so much about riding a horse who who requires a much more tactful ride. She has pretty much changed everything I know(which wasn't much) and has helped transform me from a passenger sitting on schoolies into an active participant (most days, lol)

5) short term, I haven't fallen off in about three months *knocks on wood*. There was that time period where I was coming off every week. But, with the help of CrossFit and making some tweaks to my equitation (namely reminding myself to sit back before jumps) I've stuck out all of the refusals she has thrown at me lately, including some pretty quick ones.


So...just some things I'm going to try and keep in mind next time I mount up.