Well. That was painful and I can say with 100% certainty I'm glad its over. It was good though, because I haven't done this set of skills testing (or even the full two weeks of skills testing) for almost 2 years. Its pretty sad. In the past something always came up, like I got sick twice and I can't even remember what happened the other times. Even still, I missed the max DL day which made me a little bit sad panda because I've been working a lot on my DL and really wanted to see if I could hit at least 300. Ah well. Next time!
So yesterday's skills test was:
500m row (1:46)
max HSPU (hold for scaled) (45 sec hold)
max TTB or KTE (11 TTB)
max push ups (33)
"Helen" (13:59)
3 rounds
400m run
21 swings (35 lb rx)
12 pull ups
Did my 500m row in 1:46 which I'm happy about. Definitely an improvement. Did a 45 sec hold which sucked because it was my second try. First try the timer broke so we had to do over. I know I held it longer than that the first time too, but oh ewll. Max TTB was kind of a cluster. I did it on the bar which I don't usually do, and I don't think I've attempted them in quite awhile. Looking back now, I'm realizing I made them harder on myself-I kept staring at the bar, instead of up at the ceiling. Hard to explain, but when you do that you're pretty effectively stopping the "swing" that helps you get your toes up. Push ups felt good. Don't really need to say much more on that.
Helen. Oh, Helen. That sucked. I last did Helen a few months ago I think, and was able to complete it in 13:04. So I almost went a whole minute slower. At this point I was just really, really tired. So, what can you do. Next time goal is still sub 13.
Overall, really good to get some numbers on this stuff. I definitely see why some things are my strengths and others are my weaknesses. Strengths are definitely the heavy lifts, and skills that I get to do consistently (like push ups, rowing). Heavy lifts have improved SO MUCH by being able to get under the bar on a consistent basis during normal WOD's. Weaknesses are definitely skills that I either NEVER do (HSPU), or rarely do (double unders) and don't practice (TTB, double unders). Some of that I can control. I could take 10 minutes after WOD's to work on those skills on a regular basis. However, while I do want to improve I'm just not sure I care that much? I mean DU I definitely need to work on because those show up in workouts and it kills me when they do. But I'm just not one of those CF'ers who stays afterwards and drills on skills.
No comments:
Post a Comment