Thursday, June 27, 2013

Skills Testing Week 1

Heavy lift week. Back squat, strict press and DL were on the schedule for me (also had the clean, but I never go on clean days so it was pointless to sign up)

Back squat I improved my number by 20 lbs and I feel like I probably could have even gone 5-10lbs heavier. Hit 225. Happy with this because when I did it 6 months ago, 205 was really really hard. 225 didn't go up super easy, but I also didn't feel like I wasn't going to get up out of the bottom.

Strict press I also improved by almost 20 lbs. Did 105, prior number was 87.5. Pretty happy with this too. This one was definitely harder, the 105 did not go up smoothly but all  that matters is it got up there!

Missed the DL day due to being out of town. Kind of bummed about this because I really want my DL max rep number. Oh well, next time!

Skills Testing Week 2 Day B

Well. That was painful and I can say with 100% certainty I'm glad its over. It was good though, because I haven't done this set of skills testing (or even the full two weeks of skills testing) for almost 2 years. Its pretty sad. In the past something always came up, like I got sick twice and I can't even remember what happened the other times. Even still, I missed the max DL day which made me a little bit sad panda because I've been working a lot on my DL and really wanted to see if I could hit at least 300. Ah well. Next time!

So yesterday's skills test was:

500m row (1:46)

max HSPU (hold for scaled) (45 sec hold)

max TTB or KTE (11 TTB)

max push ups (33)

"Helen" (13:59)
3 rounds
400m run
21 swings (35 lb rx)
12 pull ups

Did my 500m row in 1:46 which I'm happy about. Definitely an improvement. Did a 45 sec hold which sucked because it was my second try. First try the timer broke so we had to do over. I know I held it longer than that the first time too, but oh ewll. Max TTB was kind of a cluster. I did it on the bar which I don't usually do, and I don't think I've attempted them in quite awhile. Looking back now, I'm realizing I made them harder on myself-I kept staring at the bar, instead of up at the ceiling. Hard to explain, but when you do that you're pretty effectively stopping the "swing" that helps you get your toes up. Push ups felt good. Don't really need to say much more on that.

Helen. Oh, Helen. That sucked. I last did Helen a few months ago I think, and was able to complete it in 13:04. So I almost went a whole minute slower. At this point I was just really, really tired. So, what can you do. Next time goal is still sub 13.

Overall, really good to get some numbers on this stuff. I definitely see why some things are my strengths and others are my weaknesses. Strengths are definitely the heavy lifts, and skills that I get to do consistently (like push ups, rowing). Heavy lifts have improved SO MUCH by being able to get under the bar on a consistent basis during normal WOD's. Weaknesses are definitely skills that I either NEVER do (HSPU), or rarely do (double unders) and don't practice (TTB, double unders). Some of that I can control. I could take 10 minutes after WOD's to work on those skills on a regular basis. However, while I do want to improve I'm just not sure I care that much? I mean DU I definitely need to work on because those show up in workouts and it kills me when they do. But I'm just not one of those CF'ers who stays afterwards and drills on skills.

Tuesday, June 25, 2013

Skills Testing Week 2 Part A

Don't think I posted my results from last week, but I did a 225 back squat and a 105 strict press. I missed deadlift day, which really bummed me out because I haven't had a max one rep number in probably a year and a half. I was hoping to hit at least 300, which I feel like I definitely could have done. Its ok, another test will happen in 6 months so we'll see!

Last night was the first day of the metcon/gymnastic type skills. Was as follows:

800M run (5 min cap)

Max double unders in 2 minutes

Max ring dips in 2 minutes

Max pull ups in 2 minutes

"Christine"- 3 RFT

500m row
12 dead lifts (RX is body weight, I scaled to 135)
21 box jumps

So I was pretty happy with my 800m time, I completed in 3:17 (better than my last 800m for time, which I did in 3:30). Would still like to get around 3:00, but that would mean actually practicing running which is um...an optimistic goal. We'll see.

Double unders-what a fucking waste of time. I haven't been practicing them so its my own fault, and after the run I was super tired which does not equal DU success for me.

Pull ups and ring dips, pretty much hit the same numbers I did last time we tested this which was a year ago. A little disappointing, but eh. I've gained about 20 lbs since then which makes a HUGE difference for those two movements. I'm sure if I shed the weight prior to the next skills test, those numbers will increase

"Christine" I completed in 16:25. I honestly don't even remember my last time-I think it was somewhere in the 17 minute range? And that was with a 95lb DL because my back was JACKED that day.

Anyway, good experience but holy hell I was tired during the whole time. It was overcast and humid so I was sweating like a dog the whole time, and just feeling kind of crummy. On the box jumps during the WOD there was a point in time I couldn't even feel my legs, and was just praying that I was jumping high enough to not miss the box!

Tomorrow is part B of week two, so will report back!