Monday, February 23, 2015

Keep on keeping on...

Last update was a month ago and not too much has happened since then. On the horse front, I've backed down from riding Arwen. She started exhibiting some interesting behavior (namely bucking like a raging bronc) under saddle which made me think something physical is really bothering her. Not wanting to really spend money to diagnose and/or push her through it (for what purpose, really) I've just been putting her on the hot walker and spinning her around on a lunge line a couple times a week. Just enough to get her big brown butt moving a bit more since all she does is stand around in pasture!

Baby J is also getting a little feisty. His um...testicles are dropping so I'm wondering if that's contributing? He's still pretty sweet and easy to handle but not exactly what I would consider totally docile, judging but the hoof shaped bruise he left on my hip when I was trying to stop him from getting pushy with his food around me. Lesson learned from that one: time to stop being so nice to the "baby" and make our ground rules/manners a little more clear on who is boss.

Riding has been going decently well too. I feel like I've worked out of the slump I was in a few weeks ago. And actually, I think the slump was happening because the horse I'm leasing came up lame. Not dead lame, but lame enough to be concerning to me and his owner, and could account for becoming somewhat harder to ride (and not to mention spookier, since horses can get spooky when in pain). So he's been taking a couple weeks nice and easy, and I've been riding other horses. And hey, I got back to the point where I started thinking hey, I actually can ride! Amazing. The horse I lease, despite being uber talented and an overall cool guy, has a pretty horrible left drift that I am constantly fighting and focusing on which makes it hard to work on much other than "get him off his left side!". Add in a severe lack of engine and desire for any kind of self carriage and he can sometimes be a bear to ride well around a course. The last week though I got to ride a totally uncomplicated, dare I say "easy" horse who not only stays straight, but has an engine! It was glorious. The only bad habit this horse has is he can sometimes grab onto the bit and go "fast" which really isn't that fast at all. He did try it with me for the first couple rides, but with a great tip on how to deal with it from the assistant I was able to get him to go around on a consistent, even rhythm before and after the fences. I also did a lot of bending/flexing/lateral flatwork before jumping, and by the end of the week he was so awesome.  I have only jumped him (including last week) maybe 4 times total, and by the last lesson of the week we were coursing around 3'. That is how easy this horse is to ride! The horse belongs to a kid and I have to admit...I'm a little jealous. He really is a fantastic horse and just all around good guy.

On the fitness and personal front, I started a Whole30 at the beginning of February. The main driver behind this was I did a wellness evaluation at work (to test blood and what not) and the results where...not great. My blood glucose and triglycerides were ok,  but my cholesterol was not great and my weight was just...ugh. So I decided enough dicking around-time to get serious. I have been lax about everything for so long thinking "oh, but I CrossFit and I'm happy!" and feeling like it was enough. Which yes...its good I'm active outside of riding and that I am happy, but I also was decidedly NOT happy that I can't wear some of my clothes, and my numbers were just so bad. So I Whole30'd. The last day is March 2 and I would say while this wasn't my easiest Whole30 (I've done three) it also wasn't my hardest. I am definitely planning on continuing to eat gluten free again, and to continue on without sugar. I'm feeling pretty awesome overall, although I will say, I haven't experienced the "tiger blood" feelings in my workouts like I did the first time around. I contribute that to my being just kind of flaky about attending workouts consistently. My first Whole30 was when I was only a year into CF, and going pretty consistently. So I do need to ramp that up eventually, but I feel like if I force myself to go right now that mentally I will already been in a place of not feeling the WOD. So I've been aiming for at least twice a week consistently, with something else (like a bike ride) to replace that 3rd workout.

No comments:

Post a Comment