Wednesday, October 30, 2013

Show Update and New Ride!

Well. The show was a learning experience, to say the least. I didn't ride as well as I did the previous weekend, not by a long shot. Honestly, I think that is what has been bothering me most about it. I let the OMG GO FAST! get in the way of having nicer riding rounds and I'm really annoyed with myself in getting waaaaaay to wrapped up in winning.

Don't get me wrong though-winning can be great. When I got my head together and rode the way I should be riding, lo and behold, we would place. But that happened in only 3 out of 8 classes total, when it should have been more!

So some definitely learnings were well, learned this past weekend.

1) to ride the way I was trying to ride (i.e. fast and efficient) I need to practice jumpoffs A LOT more than I have been. And this means more showing. Which honestly, isn't that realistic. So I think I just need to remember to ride as best I can, and let the chips fall where they may.

2) I have some serious flaws in my position. I got tossed loose by Ready more than a couple times. I know part of it is gripping with my knees when I'm nervous (thanks Arwen) instead of sinking down. I also tend to go fetal when trying to go fast, which doesn't help

3) got to get more comfortable with jumping sans irons, and retriving my irons when I do loose them. This also happened more than a couple times. I will say, I did end up jumping the last 4 jumps of the jump off during my last class without irons on the worlds most uncomfortable horse, so while its a fail its also a win? LOL

So I plan to work on at least the last two things over the winter,  which is good because I have felt a little bit aimless and goal-less ever since I stopped working Arwen intensely about 9 months ago. With her I just always strived every day to be a better rider for her and since I haven't had to deal with her antics, I've gotten lazy. All the other horses I've ridden just seem so easy compared to her I have let A LOT fall by the wayside. So while I'm not going to ramp it up like I did before, especially since I'm thinking my next year's focus will be diverted to other things, I do need to get my head back into the game.

On that note, for now I have a new ride! Who should actually really let me focus on a lot of my positional issues while being a comfy, easy horse to ride. Trainer got a freebie from another trainer because the owner just couldn't really afford him anymore. He's a super sweet, 17 yo 17 hand or so former hunter/eq horse who has been on the road to recovery after a suspensory issue. Last night was his first night out at the barn and while he looked at things, there was no spook at all and just let me dink around on him at WTC and over some crossrails. What a good guy! He has a great trot and canter, although he does take a lot to keep him together (is a little long, and is just a bigger horse). So my goal with him is to get him jumping little things again, and work on getting him more fit on the flat. He needs a rider with a strong leg to help keep him engaged, so he's not technically a beginner horse although he definitely has the mind to cart beginners around (lazy and kind)  Trainer said for the meantime I can treat him like he's mine (which makes me laugh a little-means I can pay for his shit! LOL)  and I'll be the one mainly riding him. After that, I imagine he will be just a fun, easy horse to have around the barn for lessons and whatnot. We'll see! I'm kind of excited about him.

No comments:

Post a Comment