On both the fitness and riding front. My lower back is STILL bothering me so I only went to CrossFit once in hopes laying off it a bit would help. It felt better one day, then I think I slept funny because the next morning both my neck and back hurt. Awesome. The one WOD I did attend was a long, hard one so I ramped down the dumbell weight to 15's (rx'd was 25) which I felt wussy about, but I knew it was going to put a lot of stress on my low back and hey...not trying to be a hero. Putting me totally out of commission is worse than only being semi out of commission, you know?
Riding. Well. Where to start. Had a lesson Thursday night which was LOVELY. Arwen was super responsive and "on". We nailed pretty much all the fences, even a tough bending line of a five stride to a four stride. Went through it no problem. So we didn't jump much, just called it a night.
Mistake number one: Proceeded to go out to dinner with trainer after my lesson where we consumed a lot of wine. There were three of us. We drank two bottles. I was not drunk, but drinking that much even if I don't wake up hung over has shown in the past to be a hinderance to my riding the next morning. Slower reaction times, and just complete loss of brain power. But...since Arwen had been so good, I figured why wouldn't she be good the next morning?
Mistake number two: Assuming I would have the same horse in the morning. I was in a group lesson and running a little late, so we did a quick flat warm up. Did some transitions, a little lateral, but I mostly just wanted to get her warm enough to catch up to the other riders (that was Mistake number three). She started out okay, but then started her old trick of scurrying through the lines and totally blowing through my hand. I've been riding her in a new bit (Mistake number four) that she HAS been good in, but I think has to be the right kind of rideability (and owner has to be the right kind of rider) for it to be successful. Its a pretty strong combination (mullen mouth hackabit with a curb chain. Shanks are pretty long) and I can't get too handsy with it, otherwise she bears down on it. Well...I was already a little off from the alcohol consumption the night before (trainer even told me I seemed really "loose" through my upper body) which I think made her take advantage a little, and it just devolved from there. I got handsy, she got strong. Got three refusals and ugh...this is the worst part...I came off her. GAH!!!! First real come off on a refusal in MONTHS. And in the combo/bending line she did SO beautifully the night before with NO issues. What happened was we came into the line really strong, she charged through the five strides and then was running to do the 4 stride in 3. Of course, at this point my brain is in total overdrive and shutting down-I think I assumed she was just going to take the flyer (again, due to my issues with seeing really long distances when all things go to shit. I think its because with that flailing, fast canter its nearly impossible to see anything). She of course was like "what to dooooo?" and slams on the brakes. I go flying over her left shoulder, totally unprepared. I manage to swing around the underside of her neck, narrowly avoiding the jump standard, and land on my butt. Still hanging onto the reins too. Trainer asks if I want her to get on, and I'm like "no, I'll work this out" and we did. It actually ended on a fairly decent note-after that Arwen decided it was better to listen to me.
So...mistake number 5 (6,7,8? who knows what number I'm on at this point) was not being more "on" that day with my riding. Arwen is like the freaking raptors from Jurrassic Park. You know, always testing the fence for weaknesses? Well...just call me the fence. If I'm not always being really conscious of my body position/placement and what I'm asking of her, she will take advantage. I know I've posted about needing to always "ride" her. Well, again I think I've fallen into the trap of complacency because she's been so good for the last two-three months. Not anymore though.
Well after that disaster, Saturday morning was even worse. Again...a rushed flatwork warmup to catch up to the rest of the lesson (another lesson relearned after this weekend, cannot skimp on demanding excellence from her on the flat) and a different bit since another girl was using the one from the day before. Arwen started out okay, was a little speedy. But...thinking about it I'm pretty sure I spent a lot of that lesson reverting to something of a tense, anticipatory, handsy grabby hunchback. At least down some of the lines. Arwen don't play that game. She was blasting through the lines, and after doing one TINY little vertical to try and get her to listen to me again, she took off and blasted around the arena a couple times in a full on gallop. At this point I'm ready to call it quits, but trainer doesn't want to end on that note. So I trot the same vertical a couple times and bring her to a stop before the turn. She ended feeling pretty good (i.e. not racing at the trot jump, and stopping when I ask her, no bracing) and then we quit. Trainer tells me she thinks she might be going into heat but I think a lot of it was me. No, I KNOW a lot of it was me. I think the hackabit we were using is much less forgiving than the controller noseband. It is a lot of leverage, and if I'm being a good, soft rider its a great bit that really makes her listen. However, as shown on Friday and Saturday if I can't stay soft, it all goes to hell. And I think that applies in general, but its really hard for me to stay soft when she's being this speedy, charging, bracing monster.
Oh, the other thing I'm ditching next ride is the spurs. I think wearing them makes me nervous because I think I'm going to goose her (even though they're super soft, little roller balls) which causes me to take my leg off. And more hand over leg on Arwen is just no bueno.
So we'll see. Hopefully the reset button has been pushed on both of us and we can pick up again where we left off next time I ride her. Hopefully.
No comments:
Post a Comment