Wow. Its been a long time since I've posted anything, which is bad because one of the things I really wanted to do this year is to keep better track of my workouts. Quick recap on workouts and ponies:
CrossFit:
Have somewhat lost my CrossFit mojo. Don't get me wrong I still love it. Lately though its just been really hard to get motivated to go. Maybe its because I dunno..I've gained like 10-15 lbs since last year? UGH. I totally fell off the paleo bandwagon and I can feel it. I've been trying to get back on because I just feel SO much better when I'm lighter (and perform better in the gym) but its been really hard for some reason. I feel like my body is really cyclical-I can be comfortable at a certain weight for awhile, and then all of a sudden my body/brain starts freaking out and wants to get heavier again.
Granted I do think some of it is muscle. I've been consistently lifting heavier and making gains in most of my lifting skills, so that could be part of it. Its hard to lift really heavy weights and think about losing some LBs at the same time.
And its actually fitting that the last time I posted was February 26th, where I talked about doing Nancy because guess what today's WOD is? Thats right its Nancy. We'll see if I can beat my time-I have a sinking feeling though that it won't happen. I havent; worked on my running at all, and due to the extra weight that I've put on since February, its not helping my "run faster" cause, lol.
Horses:
I've still been riding quite a bit, a lot of it just hasn't been on Arwen. We kind of came to the conclusion that she is pretty much done with the whole jumping thing. I think she would be perfectly happy just being flatted around and trail ridden for the rest of her life. Which, is ok. I really enjoy doing those things with her because she is so level headed and good about that kind of stuff. I'm not entirely convinced that her aversion to jumping isn't something physical. I'm sure a lot of it just has to do with her personality and my riding, but I also think something is going on with her somewhere that prevents her from jumping somewhat calmly after all this time. We know its not training because she is definitely trained up the wazoo. However, she has always been really hard to get on the bit and can just be so wonky on her left side that I'm thinking its got to be physical. Because when I ride other horses I can get them going on a nice, even consistent contact which has always been a struggle with me and Arwen. So again, I'm sure some of it is my skill as a rider but I also feel like she's resisting for a reason.
So the decision was made to start letting her live outside full time and to try and see if we can make her a momma! She's actually at the vets right now, where we're waiting for her to develop a follicle. The semen from a lovely stallion named Imothep/Werner H arrived last week (frozen) so Arwen just has to tell us when she's ready to go and they'll start injecting it in hopes of getting her into foal for next year. My trainer was originally going to do this breeding on her own, but due to money constraints was unable. So we worked out a deal to split it half way, and if the resulting foal ends up being something I could have as my next horse, I'll buy her out. And conversely, if it doesn't, we'll sell and split the profits. So we'll see what happens! Even thinking about the foal is getting ahead of myself since Arwen isn't pregnant yet But I can't help but daydream!