I really need to start posting here regularly again, because looking back at some of my old posts are definitely helpful! I think I've stopped because well, things are kind of boring right now. I've been going to CF fairly consistently (with the exception of last week, I totally failed at CF) and Arwen has been fairly decent.
But for the sake of updating, here it goes.
Fitness/Diet:
Been working out pretty regularly. My back is still bothering me, especially after sitting. I really need to see a doctor but I'm just so lazy! Sometimes though it starts feeling great, and then I do something to mess it up again. Good job, Katie.
WOD's at CF lately have been incorporating strength work pretty much every day which I have been loving. I really missed doing the barbell work. Last night I did the "Filthy Fifty" for the first time ever and my time ended up at 34:10. Not bad (I wanted to go sub 35) but not great. I got REALLY tired towards the end. I think a lot of it is my diet, honestly. I haven't been keeping it as clean as I should. So for the next 30 days, I'm going to get a little more strict because...HAWAII!! Gotta look decent in that swimsuit...
Personal:
So, yes, Hawaii. Coming up in about 30 days, woot! The only problem is that means my birthday is also coming. Tomorrow in fact. The big 3-0. Its funny because I don't feel 30, and 30 still seems so young when I think about it. Yet I remember being a teen and thinking OMG 30 is so old. And yet here I am. Gulp.
Riding:
My lessons have been fairly decent lately. I've had a couple of harder ones where Arwen has been a little testy, BUT she is taking all the fences. I rarely ever feel hesitation from her anymore. I think I've started being more consistent to the base, which gives her more confidence. I have a really bad habit of twitching the reins on approach (like loose, slack, loose) because I will tip forward with my upper body. But lately I've been trying to focus on keeping my upper body up and abs tight, which inevitably makes my arms/hands more stable, and makes her trust what I'm asking her. Because she has definitely given me some freebies, but also, we just haven't had a super scary distance in awhile.
I've been riding her almost exclusively in the three ring at this point too. The hackabit just had to much play for me, and I feel like encouraged me being too handsy which I DON'T need. The three ring stays more stable, which gives me a better feel, which in turn gives her better communication, which she likes.
We've also been throwing in some higher jumps here and there, at around 3'. Still am not back up to a full 3' course, but I'm hoping we'll get there before winter time. If Arwen continues this way, we should. Also hoping to get to some shows (doesn't that seem to always be the hope?)
I FINALLY got a new helmet too! I ended up ordering the One K Defender in black suede. I double crossed my fingers in hoping that it would fit, since I didn't get a chance to try it on. But, I couldn't pass up the Rider's Awareness helmet sales that went on in June (20% off!) especially given I did need a new one. Fortunately, it turned out fitting perfectly and looks fantastic. Its a very spiffy looking helmet actually, not too radical but still different from the CO's and GPA's that dominate. Its very low profile on my head, and extremely flattering. What I really like though is the removeable liner feature so I can wash it when it gets too stinky.
So yea...thats pretty much it. I have the next two weeks of lessons with Trainer's assistant since she's away at a show. We'll see how it goes!